Angela Agoo, Operations Manager • angela@opeanarmsps.org • 206-723-6868, ext. 124

Angela was born and raised in the Pacific Northwest and was first introduced to Open Arms through an invitation to volunteer in the office. She became more interested in becoming a part of the organization after attending a fundraising event in 2016. It was after becoming a parent herself to daughter Aria, born in 2017, which only further confirmed the importance of helping families. Outside of work, Angela enjoys wine-tasting, the sunshine and spending time with family.

Anna Forrester, Birth Doula Services Resource & Referral Coordinator • anna@openarmsps.org • 206-723-6868, ext. 106

Bio coming soon!

Provider and community referrals: (206) 866-0729 ext. 106

Ashleigh Ligon, Development & Communications Support • ashleigh@openarmsps.org

Bio coming soon!

Betty Hernandez, Latinx Birth Doula Services Program Support • betty@openarmsps.org • 206-723-6868, ext. 121

Bio coming soon!
Spanish speakers and Spanish speaking referrals: (206) 317-1842 x ext. 121

Bre Davis, Birth Doula Services Program Support • bre@openarmsps.org

Bio coming soon!

Cynthia Turrietta, Early Learning Program Director • cynthia@openarmsps.org • 206-723-6868, ext. 122

Bio coming soon!

Deandra Ludovice, Managing Director • deandra@openarmsps.org • 206-723-6868, ext. 101

Deandra has worked at nonprofits around the Puget Sound and Bay Area such as New Futures (now Southwest Youth and Family Services), Seattle University, and STAND! for Families Free of Violence. Deandra holds a master’s degree in nonprofit administration from the University of San Francisco as well as extensive experience in operations, marketing, and fundraising. As a mom to two young children, Deandra is passionate about Open Arms’ mission to help mothers and families.

Deziree Lindsey, Birth Doula Services Program Support • deziree@openarmsps.org • 206-723-6868, ext. 116

Bio coming soon!

Dila Perera, MSW, MPH, Executive Director • dila@openarmsps.org • 206-723-6868, ext. 109

Dila has worked in public health and advocacy locally and internationally, including time spent as a doula for Open Arms. She earned both a Master of Public Health and a Master of Social Work at the University of Washington, after starting her career as a health educator at 19. She went on to spend twelve years helping to build and manage innovative and complex programs designed to improve the health of vulnerable populations, including mothers, children, families, and people living with or affected by HIV. Most recently, she led the Washington State Training Program at the Northwest AIDS Education and Training Center.

Dila has managed several large-scale federally funded interventions but believes that small organizations, even when working with minimal resources, are still the most effective at creating lasting and transformational change. She has been a program manager, a grant maker, a board member, and a trainer. However, Dila considers working with pregnant people – before birth, during birth, and supporting new mothers and infants – to be the most rewarding work she has ever done.

Elena Quezada, Bookkeeper • elena@openarmsps.org • 206-723-6868, ext. 136

Bio coming soon

Elizabeth Montez, Breastfeeding Peer Counselor • elizabeth@openarmsps.org • 206-723-6868, ext. 140

Bio coming soon

Farrah Rivera, Perinatal & Breastfeeding Collaborative Director • farrah@openarmsps.org • 206-723-6868, ext. 135

Farrah Ka’Healani Rivera, MSM, CPM, LM, is a licensed midwife who was born and raised on the island O’ahu in Hawai’I and is of Itneg decent. The eldest of 20+ grandchildren, she grew up surrounded by family, pregnant aunts and newborns. Her passion to advocate for women developed in her community work in Los Angeles as an organizer, domestic violence activist, community doula and women circle facilitator.  She collaborated with other women and founded Ixchel Midwifery and the LA division of the Justice for Sister Collective. She also volunteered her time with the teen mothers program for Planned Parenthood and participated in Los Angeles based birth documentary, “Tlakatiliztli” directed by Dee Lopez. She is currently on the steering committee for the Pacific Islander Health Board of Washington and continues her community work though Sobadas, womb work, and Cerradas, closing ceremonies.

 She understands that collaboration with all divisions of health care create optimal outcomes of mothers and babies. She also believes that families have the right to choose providers who a reflection of themselves and with this belief she advocates for the education and over-well being of POC student midwives and providers of color.  

Hawa Egal, Community-Based Outreach Doula for the Somali community • hawa@openarmsps.org • 206-723-6868, ext. 102

Hawa Egal is an Outreach Doula for Open Arms Perinatal Services. Her main goal is to create a safe and non-judgmental environment for families to share their hearts and souls. Since earning her Promoting First Relationships certification she has been implementing early learning throughout her clientele. As an Outreach Doula, she wants to connect with and educate Somali women who have unique cultural needs, and guide them to having a healthy pregnancy. She continues to be with them to gently support and encourage them while they bond with their newborns. Hawa considers it an honor and a privilege to be a witness during this intimate time in women’s lives. Right now she is working toward a degree in social work. She is the mother of three beautiful children.

Jami Bess, Outreach Doula Program Manager • jami@openarmsps.org • 206-723-6868, ext. 103

Jami Bess is an Outreach Doula for Open Arms Perinatal Services. Her heartfelt dream is that every family has the support, education, and the empowerment to be healthy, happy and to thrive. She is passionate about health and social justice and is excited to be a part of the dynamic work at Open Arms. She enjoys spending time with her three amazing children, and one wonder dog.  

Janae Teal, Database Coordinator • janae@openarmsps.org

Bio coming soon

Kate Wilhite Brickell, Outreach Doula Program Coordinator • kateb@openarmsps.org • 206-723-6868, ext. 129

Bio coming soon!
kateb@openarmsps.org

Kristin Travis, Community-Based Outreach Doula for the African-American Community • kristin@openarmsps.org • 206-723-6868, ext. 126

Bio coming soon!

Lea Johnson, Clinical Consultant • lea@openarmsps.org

Bio coming soon!

Loida Ginocchio Silva, Community-Based Outreach Doula for the Latinx community • loida@openarmsps.org • 206-723-6868, ext. 131

Bio coming soon!

Malinda Bessett, Social Media & Grants Support • malinda@openarmsps.org

Bio coming soon!

Margarita Celis, Community-Based Outreach Doula for the Latinx community • margarita@openarmsps.org • 206-723-6868, ext. 108

Margarita Celis came to this country over 20 years ago from Peru with her 4-year-old child. Later, she and her husband had two more children in New York. Margarita says, “I did not have the best experiences having to give birth to my babies in a foreign country and with a language barrier. I wish I had the services that Open Arms provides, but this gives me the strength and the compassion to see the need of these women in our community and make a difference.” She was involved in activities from her local WIC, and she became a breastfeeding consultant as well as a stay-at-home mom. She says, “Open Arms found me and I felt so lucky because this is the job that I really value, not only for the income that I can bring home, but for the satisfaction I feel when I can help moms.”

Mary Concepcion-Aboy, Breastfeeding Peer Counselor • mary@openarmsps.org • 206-723-6868, ext. 127

Bio coming soon!

Memorie Gladstone, Community-Based Outreach Doula for the American Indian/Alaska Native community • memorie@openarmsps.org • 206-723-6868, ext. 119

Memorie Gladstone is the American Indian/Alaskan Native Community Outreach Doula. She is from the Blackfoot tribe of Browning Montana. She has several years of experience as a breastfeeding peer counselor which inspired her to work as a doula since the two professions go hand in hand. The experience she had giving birth to her children and the knowledge she has now motivates her to educate and empower the women in her community.  Being an advocate and providing extra support for a mother while witnessing new life is truly fulfilling.   In her free time she enjoys the outdoors with her family which includes her dogs Otto and Giger.

Peggy Allen Jackson, Development Director • peggy@openarmsps.org • 206-723-6868, ext. 107

A seasoned fundraiser and enthusiastic roller-up of her sleeves, Peggy Allen Jackson brings more than a decade of fundraising, strategic planning, and communications experience in both the nonprofit and private sectors to her role as development director at Open Arms. She is an energetic communicator with a passion to connect donors to the mission of Open Arms and to invite people in to be a part of shaping the important work we are doing to improve outcomes for pregnant people and children in the region. Prior to joining Open Arms, Peggy served as development director at the Northwest African American Museum, The Greater Seattle Bureau of Fearless Ideas (formerly 826 Seattle), and Powerful Schools. At each organization she exceeded fundraising goals year after year, while facing a tough economy and giving climate.  Peggy was born and raised in the northwest (and is a proud UW graduate!), and currently resides in south Seattle with her family.

Rokea Jones, Community-Based Outreach Doula for the African-American community • rokea@openarmsps.org • 206-723-6868, ext. 118

Rokea Jones is one of the Open Arms’ Outreach Birth Doulas for the African–American community.  Rokea is a Seattle native, she received her Bachelor’s degree from The Evergreen State College in Olympia Washington.  Rokea started her doula experience as volunteer birth doula in 2007 with Open Arms!  She has consistently worked with the African–American and East African communities.  Rokea takes pride in being very resourceful and in her commitment to being of service.  Rokea is passionate about seeing communities of color experience improved birth outcomes, helping as many moms as possible experience birth the way they desire, and achieving the Open Arms goal that every family that wants a doula, gets one.  Rokea’s other interests are in nutrition and herbal remedies.  Rokea has been blessed to become a mother and is looking forward to swapping stories and sharing her experiences with other moms.  She is also a city commissioner on the Seattle Women’s Commission, holding the position as the health and community wellness liaison.  One fun fact about Rokea is that she loves to sing and she use to sing in a seven piece band with her brother.

Sharyka Webster, Community-Based Outreach Doula for the American Indian/Alaska Native community, • sharyka@openarmsps.org • 206-723-6868, ext. 130

Bio coming soon!

Shevonne Tsegaye, Breastfeeding Peer Counselor • shevonne@openarmsps.org • 206-723-6868, ext. 139

Bio coming soon!

Suad Farole, Community-Based Outreach Doula for the Somali community • suad@openarmsps.org • 206-723-6868, ext. 117

Bio coming soon!

Tanya Anderson, CFO • tanya@openarmsps.org

Bio coming soon!

Taylor Crotty, Volunteer Coordinator • taylor@openarmsps.org • 206-723-6868, ext. 138

Bio coming soon!

Vonda Prioleau, Birth Doula Services Program Support • vonda@openarmsps.org

Bio coming soon!

Yuka Takamiya, Finance Manager • yuka@openarmsps.org • 206-723-6868, ext. 125

Bio coming soon!

Birth Doulas

Amaryah Wolf
Andrea Balina
Andrea Torres
Anna Forrester
Betty Hernandez
Bre Davis
Caellyn Everson / Held In Arms
Christina Renee Jones-Norris
Christy Narvaez
Davinah Simmons / Rooted Birth Doula Services
Jamilah Fields
Jannie Choi
Jasmine Stuverud
Jen Hamilton / Wee Welcome Doula & Lactation Services

Loretta Huland
Natasha Osborn
Nitra McCoy
Rebekah Schmidt
Sequoia O’Connell
Shevonne Tsegaye
Stephanie Lewis
Szu-Ting Hao
Tai Jordan
Tiye Murry
Toni Boothe
Tuyet Thu Truong
Vanessa Bussell
Vonda Prioleau